Fly ball caught in foul territory

Wayne on August 12, 2010, 09:50 pm

Being kind of new to scorekeeping, I am puzzled by this: when a fly ball is caught near the foul line, the TV/radio announcers usually make it a point to announce whether the ball was caught in fair or foul territory. It looks like the umpire also indicates which it was. What is the significance? If the ball is not dropped and no runners attempt to advance, what is the difference? I know the scoring would be recorded differently (/F or /FL), but does this change any stats for the game?

alexeth on August 13, 2010, 07:48 pm

I don't know of any significance beyond an accurate description of the play. I cannot think of a stat that it would affect.
When reviewing a play-by-play it might explain why an infield pop-up was not an in field fly or some other such context, so perhaps only a picky detail.
I'm looking forward to hearing if there's something I missed.

on August 15, 2013, 10:49 pm

It's all for tracking play location purposes; nothing more. This would be used for spray charts.

Log in or register to post a response

Copyright © 2009-17 Alex Reisner | contact