Runner caught stealing at 3B to end inning

Casey on April 3, 2011, 10:31 pm

What is the official scoring in this scenario for the batter?

2 outs. Runner at 2B.

Pitcher throws Ball 4 while the runner at 2B gets thrown out at 3B to end the inning. I assume the batter is still credited with an official walk and plate appearance, correct?

Alex Reisner on April 4, 2011, 12:02 am

I don't see anything in the official rules about this specifically, but I can't think of any reason why the batter wouldn't be awarded a base on balls (and a full plate appearance) since the following batter will lead off the next inning.

mattlasley on April 4, 2011, 02:02 am

I agree with Alex.
Look at some similar situations:
- If there was 1 out, and Batter strikes out, and R2 caught stealing for out 3, inning over, and Batter completed his plate appearance.
- If Batter in original situation hit into a FC where R2 tagged him attempting 3rd, it'd be end of inning and Batter got his plate appearance.
- If original situation, batter walks and R2 stays put. New batter. Before he gets his first pitch, R2 is picked off, or caught stealing, inning over, original batter has his PA and new batter will be first up next inning.

So, batter got his walk. Runner got caught. next!

kasualkid on April 7, 2011, 12:40 pm

This exact situation happened in our High School game Tuesday night. We had a man on third with two outs and the batter in the 7th slot had a full count. Pitcher threw a wild pitch (for ball four) and our runner on third broke for the plate. The ball gave the defense a favorable bounce and the catcher threw out the runner at the plate for the third out.

Just to be sure, I conferred with the home plate umpire and the result was a plate appearance with a walk as a result for the batter and the number 8 hitter in the lineup was due up the next inning.

As to the official rules, I think this is addressed indirectly with the "runners advance at their own peril" situations. This can be deduced, IMO, from 7.04(b) and 7.08(e).

on August 15, 2013, 10:41 pm

This is correct; I believe this should be scored as:

W.CS3(25)

Thanks.

Log in or register to post a response

Copyright © 2009-17 Alex Reisner | contact