mattlasley on June 18, 2012, 07:08 pm
A couple of more from a recent game.
A) Runners on corners, 2 out. Batter hits double to right center, apprantly scoring 2 runs. Defense appeals at 2nd that runner missed 2nd. Out on the appeal, no run.
Not sure how to note the out on appeal, but I'd seen "OA" in a friend's note about it.
B) Runners on 1st and 2nd. Runner starts to steal 3rd before pitcher begins delivery. He steps off and throws to 3rd, who runs the runner back to 2nd. Runner from 1st is standing there, so tags the base, trailing runner out. I suppose it's just a 1X2CS(15).
Alex Reisner on June 18, 2012, 07:17 pm
(A) Looks good to me. I don't know of any official notation for an appeal but the 1X2 is definitely correct.
(B) That's a crazy play. I do think you're right, except that it's CS2(15).
mattlasley on June 18, 2012, 07:37 pm
CS2(15) makes it seem like the runner from 2nd was out, rather than the one on first, which is why I thought it necessary to name the runner from 1st being out (1X2).
yeah, it's crazy. it looks funny on the before/after too, because before this play there's runners on 1st & 2nd. Afterward the runner on 1st is gone. So as a "caught stealing" it's weird, what the heck was the guy on 1st stealing 2nd when someone was there? Well... yeah, that's exactly what went wrong, they ended up both on the same bag. The Defensive coach is very sharp, and probably saw this developing as he watched from the dugout, telling the F5 to "run him all the way back" (not throw) and "tag them both".
mattlasley on July 11, 2012, 03:50 pm
Technically it's a ground ball ("GDP") but it's not a force or reverse force double play (so it's not a GiDP stat). I just didn't like the looks "GDP" because of that but open to input on how to record that.
Runner on third. No outs. Ground ball hit down third base line, behind the runner to the 3rd baseman. Runner started back, sees the fielder, and then jumps back to run toward home. F5 throws to F2 and runner is tagged out. Batter has rounded 1st and heading to 2nd. F2 throws to F4. B/R reverses and heads back to 1st. F4 throws to F3, and runner is tagged out returning to first. Double play.
S.1X3(25) (circle runners on 2nd & 3rd)
Bases loaded 2 outs. Batter singles to left field. 2 runs score. Runner on first heading to third. Throw from left comes to catcher too late to catch the runner from 2nd. Catcher throws to 3rd and does catch the runner from first - inning over. Question is, do you do anything with those non-assist throws (7-2)? I write them when I score so I know what goes on (usually with little numbers where big numbers are actual chances) but I wondered if this notes it correctly.
These came from same game. I may upload a couple of HS summer varsity games. They're actually better quality than some pro games.
Alex Reisner on July 12, 2012, 09:05 am
Nice examples. In the first, you're correct to use "DP" instead of "GDP". In the second, I think you want "(725)" so it's clear how the catcher got the ball. When tallying assists you just wouldn't count the left fielder.
kaneone on February 28, 2013, 08:54 pm
For A, why would you even right OA? The appeal is not what got him out. The batter touching second base before the man on first is what got him out. The appeal just made the umpire actually call it.
For example, let's say a player hits a double that gets reviewed to see if it's a home run. If they call it a home run, it's not a "home run after review." It's just a home run.
mattlasley on March 1, 2013, 12:55 am
You have a good point. Of course, I record a lot of "extra" stuff because I'm trying to recreate the game later, not merely get the stats correct. Sometimes the extra detail can explain a strange play. If D(3-H)(1X2) was all it said, then it looks incomplete. Technically it's incomplete as is, because the PO should go to F4, but after a double, the missing assist could draw a question - did the scorekeeper miss the assist, or was it unassisted, or, as here, an appeal?
Anyway, you're still correct. Sort of like recording foul-ball-outs, it's just an out, who cares if it's foul.... but I still write it down.
What's the weirdest play you've scored?
kaneone on March 1, 2013, 01:00 am
Nothing yet. I just got my scorebook in the mail today. :D
I will never go back to the traditional scorebook. I had a hard time convincing my scorekeeper to try it, but after one or two games he was hooked also. This scorebook should replace ALL OTHER scorebooks!
— Cuddy Wolf, Abingdon, Maryland
Baytown River Bandits (semi-pro team)
Your cart is empty.